Air Force Part 1 – Decision making

I think it’s time for a bit more of a personal post, so here it goes.

I mentioned before that I’m intending to join the Air Force, so I’m going to blog a bit about that decision- and as my journey with that unfolds I’ll be writing about it. I know when I first started looking into the Air Force and joining it I was trying to find peoples experiences about it that weren’t just question/answers on the AF site. It’s better when you hear it from someone going through it or in the process of going through it. So maybe someone like me will stumble upon this blog and get some answers.

I never saw myself joining the military growing up. My dad was in the army before I was born, and most of my family has been military- pretty much every branch. But being lesbian and feminist and not liking to take orders the military was pretty much out of the question. But then I got older and I started going to college and I realized how expensive it was, and how my parents couldn’t afford it. Don’t Ask Don’t Tell was repealed. I got a hunger to do something with my life and make something of myself.

It wasn’t until October of last year when my life was getting a little out of hand and my parents called me out on it that I sat down and asked myself- What am I going to do with my life? I was 17 and I needed to figure my shit out. So I started looking into the Air Force (given, my dad did push me in that direction a bit). It has a bunch of job opportunities, most that transfer into the real world afterwords. You can get college paid for, you get health insurance and a steady job, a place to live, the option to travel, and a bunch of other benefits- even if you’re only staying in the minimum of 4 years. If you make Air Force a career those benefits double. 

College paid for? A purpose? Travel? It seemed like a good decision. 

Now, I’m the type of person that once I decide something I do it. I don’t like taking back my word, I don’t like thinking about something forever. If i want to do something I do it and I want to do it right away. So the next day I was calling recruiters, trying to set up a meeting. I was online looking at every site, every forum, every video. I wanted to get an idea what I was getting into. 

Within a week I met with my recruiter for the first time and we started going over what I would need to do to join, what it would be like, and answering any questions. So I took home some papers and started doing my homework – which was looking at the jobs and making a list of the ones I was interested in. 

-Part 1. I’ll write more about the joining process in another blog 

 

Leave a Reply

