Oh, New York

Oh, New York. You have been so good to me, so beautiful, so welcoming, and so intoxicating.

Image

But my trip has come to an end- which is difficult to accept.  How am I supposed to get onto a plane with all my things and go back to a place that I know isn’t right for me? How do I leave my new found community, home, and friends? How do I take the leap back to my small town- knowing that within 2 weeks of returning I will be shipping off for the Air Force?

I don’t know. But I do know that I have to. So as I sit here on a few hours of sleep, mainly functioning on the high of last nights amazing night, I’m somehow smiling.

The stories I have to bring back with me are unreal. In this past week, I feel like I’ve lived a year. I’ve learn so much, seen so much, done so much, and felt so much. Every emotion on that spectrum- I’ve felt this week. And it’s been worth it.

Seeing my friends and making new ones? Check.

Volunteering with little kids, and to help save Coney Island? Check.

Giant makeout orgies? Check.

Burlesque shows? Check.

Spinning fire? Check.

Navigating the subways on my own? Check.

Drawing in a little cafe with a friend? Check.

Walking miles and miles of Manhattan alone? Check.

The list could go on, but I would definitely make it a mile long. This trip has taught me to laugh and cry for all the same reasons, to really live. Live in the moment, don’t worry about your future or tomorrow, or even an hour from now. Or you’re going to miss what’s happening right in front of your eyes. 

So thank you, New York, for being everything I wanted and more. I will return to you, and you will always captivate my heart in ways no person ever could. 

Until we meet again,

    Iiae

One thought on “Oh, New York

  1. Vinny says:

    Fact: New York > Every other city combined into one giant city xD

Leave a Reply

